The Repeating Cycle

As a teenager in University, I often get the common questions:

“Where do you go to school?”

“What program?”

And.. “So what job will that get you?” or “What do you want to be?”

Everybody has dreams. Everybody has goals ambitions. But I feel that mine are different than everybody else’s. Every person I know wants to go to school to get an education so that they can grow up and get a good job that pays well so that they can have a family and support them. They want to grow up and meet their soul mate, and have tons of kids to run around and play with.

But then what..? You work and pay for things and live your happy little lives content with what you have and never wanting anything more? Nothing out of the ordinary? Well that’s not what I want.

I don’t want to go to school to get an education. I want to go to school to gain knowledge and experiences. I want to meet people, connect with them, and share mutual thoughts and talk about things. I don’t want to go ‘learn’. I want to go live, and while I’m living I will learn along the way.

I don’t want to go to school for the sole purpose of getting a job. Hell, I don’t even want a job. I want a career. I want a life where I am doing something I am so passionate about. I want to finish school and be able to take the information I have gathered not to ‘obtain a job’ but to help me live my life.

I don’t want to finish school just to hop right over to the next thing that I will label: a job. I want to travel and explore. I want to meet new people and see new things. I want to gain more knowledge from places I have never known and I want to get a better understanding of the world in which I live in.

I don’t want a typical job that everyone else wants. I don’t want to sit in an office all day staring out a window like a zombie typing on a computer. I don’t want to drive in traffic everyday commuting down town. I don’t want to work 9-5 just to survive, and then go home at the end of the day to rest, then repeat the next day. No. I want a life. I want a life where I can do what I love, and get paid for it. I don’t want a job – I want to create things. I want to learn what this world is made of and create things that will help pursue it and benefit it. I want to make a difference and help people. I want people to recognize things that I have learned, and change the way that everyday people think.

Those things that everyone else seems to want and strive for in life? An education, a job, a soul mate, lots of kids; they don’t interest me. I could care less about them. I have bigger dreams and ambitions than that, and I’m sure as hell not going to fall into the cycle that everyone else does. We say that we are free but that’s just because they have us believing we are free. But if you think about it, are we really truly free? ‘Wake up, take the kids to school, drive to work, work all day, drive home, eat, sleep, repeat’. No. To me that is not a life, it’s a cycle that we are born into and told that this is life. But it’s not a life, it’s a routine, and every single person is the same. I don’t want to be the same. I want to be different.

I am different.

2013-12-15 004 2013-12-15 1472014-08-12 001 2014-08-12 053 2013-12-15 004 2013-12-15 143 2014-01-08 005 2014-01-08 005

Leave a Reply

