The Cruel Rules of High School

When I was in high school, I thought I was stupid. Because I wasn’t on honour roll (80%), I believed I wasn’t doing well in life. I was terrified of University because I thought I was so dumb and I’d never be able to get accepted anywhere. It turns out, I was wrong.

The reason I had these terrible thoughts, is because I was in all the wrong classes. Yes, you heard me – wrong classes! High school makes teenagers take mandatory classes ie: English, math and science. Now I know that English is necessary for the basic human language and we need it for everything, so that one can stay. But the other two however, need to go; especially if you do not thrive in those subjects.

I am not saying they need to be cut from curriculum ( of course not), just the mandatory list that demands every student to take them.

Honestly, I SUCK at math and science. And I always felt so stupid whenever I’d fail a test or do poorly on an assignment. It completely lowered my self-esteem and made me not feel good enough. If I would have known that what I know now, I wouldn’t have let myself get so down about it.

Not every single person needs math and science for the career that they want. I am currently in my second year university studying Cultural Studies: film, video and media, and I could not be happier. I absolutely love my program and I love all the classes I get to take; especially because I get to choose them. I am excited to learn and actually enjoy my readings. I genuinely am learning so much and that makes me happy. I know I am not stupid; I just know what I am good at and how I can succeed in life.

If everyone was meant to be the same, we’d all be out of jobs. That’s why we have diversity – because we need the doctors, lawyers and engineers, but we also need the artists; the photographers, painters, dancers, sculptors, journalists, mechanics, plumbers, fashion designers, make-up artists, interior decorators, event planners, social workers, etc.

And do you think art needs math or science? NO. that I am not putting down the jobs that need them, because like I just said, they are crucial and essential in our society. We all have different roles and we all learn different ways. It’s time the high school curriculum understands that.

Leave a Reply

